Presents the Science-Fiction series…

Roots

For the first time in weeks I find myself on a Saturday where nothing is going on in the daytime. Now this isn’t a complaint, I love what I do in my free time, but it is nice to sometimes slow down and enjoy a day where little is going on.

So I sat down and put on Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan – awesome film to be sure.  But it got me thinking about our roots as artists.

As a child Star Trek: The Next Generation used to be broadcast on a Tuesday evening on BBC 2 and my dad used to catch it now and again. I think I started getting into it when I was about 10 years old and found myself lost in this glorious vision of the future – which I still am to this day. My creative roots,  as well as my love for science-fiction, can be traced back to Tuesday night episodes of Star Trek: TNG growing up.

So as I sit here listening to William Shatner make the famous war cry “KHAAAAAN!” I wonder, can you trace your creative roots? What is it that got you into the passion you follow today?

Sound off in the comments below!

Leave a comment